our Team

Professor Alan Rosen


Chair, Transforming Australia’s Mental Health Service Systems (TAMHSS)
Professorial Fellow, Illawarra Institute of Mental Health, University of Wollongong,
Clinical Associate Professor, Brain & Mind Centre, Sydney Medical School, University of Sydney,

Alan Rosen is a Community Psychiatrist and on the Professorial staff of the University of Wollongong and University of Sydney. He is a member of the Royal College of Psychiatrists, Fellow of the Royal ANZ College of Psychiatrists and Board Director of The Mental Health Services [TheMHS] Learning Network/Conferences.

He is the Author or co-author of more than 160 academic articles and chapters, including mental health impact of drought, pandemic and other climate change crises on and practical responses of Indigenous communities.

Professor Rosen was the Inaugural Deputy Commissioner of the Mental Health Commission of NSW 2012-2015 and was awarded an Officer of Order of Australia in 2014.

He has been a psychiatrist serving Aboriginal communities in a remote region of New South Wales for more than 35 years and sits on the Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Psychiatrist Torres Strait Islander Committee.

Associate Professor Roger Gurr


Clinical Director (psychiatrist) Headspace Early Psychosis, Western Sydney

Roger Gurr is the psychiatrist Clinical Director of the headspace Early Psychosis Youth Service, Western Sydney. He also holds a Conjoint Appointment in Psychiatry, Western Sydney University Faculty of Medicine. He is a founder and Board Chair of the NSW Service for the Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture and Trauma Survivors (STARTTS).

He is a founder of the Mental Health Services Conference Learning Network and Chairs its Mental Health Services Achievement Awards program.

He has been involved in human rights activities through leadership roles in Amnesty International Australia and the Australian Human Rights Council.

Vivienne Miller

Vivienne Miller MA (Educ & Work), BA (Italian Studies), Dip.OT (WA), AFCHSM, CHM Founding Executive Director & Board Member TheMHS Learning Network Executive Member WAPR Australia Co-convenor, Mind Museum steering group

Vivienne has worked in mental health services in Australia and England for over 50 years. Since 1996 she has held the position as Executive Director of the largest, most inclusive mental health conference in Australia The Mental Health Services (TheMHS) Conference, run through TheMHS Learning Network Inc.
She is a founding member of TheMHS Management Committee which held its first meeting in 1991.  She is a co-author of the National Standards for Mental Health Services (1996) and was an advisor to the National Mental Health Workforce Standards. Vivienne has worked as a University lecturer, occupational therapist and manager and mental health educator and project officer.


Vice President and founding member TAMHSS

Douglas Holmes is the Carer Peer Network facilitator with the NSW Mental Health Carer Advocacy Network  (under contract with Mental Health Carers NSW). Douglas has had a long involvement with Association of Relatives and Friends of the Mentally Ill (ARAFMI) on the Central Coast, including as current Chairperson of the board and is a long-time member of the Yakkalla Community support group. Douglas is also the project manager with Super Cro, a charity set up in 2018 to aid people with lived experience of mental health distress through education, advocacy, collaboration, feedback and equal representation.

Leanne Craze


Mental health and social policy consultant

Leanne Craze has contributed to: Developing a Regional Mental Health Peer Workforce Framework, for COORDINARE, the South Eastern NSW Primary Health Network in 2021; Establishing a National framework for recovery oriented mental health services through the Safety Quality Partnerships Standing Committee 2014, for the Commonwealth Department of Health and Ageing; recognising and responding to deterioration in mental states in acute health care settings, Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care 2013

In August 2022, Leanne assisted the Taiwanese government to establish the International Review Committee (“IRC”)  to monitor the implementation of the United Nations (“UN”) Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (“CRPD”) in Taiwan.

Associate Professor Peter McGeorge


Former Director St Vincents Hospital Inner City Health Program

Peter McGeorge is an Adolescent and General Psychiatrist who has extensive experience in the development, delivery, and review of mental health services. In his role att St Vincents Hospital he had responsibility  for Mental Health, Alcohol and Drug and Homeless Health Services. He was a Board member of the Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (now Flourish) and the Wayside Chapel, and Clinical Lead for NSW Health “Pathways to Community Living Initiative” (PCLI) between 2014-2018. He is currently working on a PhD under the supervision of Professor Luis Salvador- Carulla at the University of Canberra.